Home
Homepage

Homepage

Fancybox

Our project

The RhinFilm project offers a Franco-German perspective of non-fiction films produced, filmed or projected in Alsace or in Baden-Württemburg over the XXth century. Two groups of historians herein collaborate to study industrial, promotional and education films; films produced institutionally, as well as those produced by amateurs. Our objective is to reveal the economic, social, cultural and memorial facets of "utility" films, which are not issue of the same conditions as commercial films. In order to restitute the audiovisual memory of the Upper Rhine region, two innovative approaches, with regards to the research methodology and to the role of the public, are adopted.

Our method

  • Systematically compare all "utility" film genres
  • Study their production, their diffusion dispositifs and their reception
  • Affiliate scientific events and public events

The public and the project

Consideration of the public is necessary to achievethe project objectives. Here, the public includes spectators, amateur filmmakers, and actors in the economic and cultural realms of the Upper Rhine region. We invite everyone to participate in the three thematic projection and discussion film forums to take place on both sides of the Rhine:

  • Wine and wine-growing (March-April 2013)
  • Propaganda (Spring 2014)
  • Health practices and products (Spring 2015)

The exchanges with the public at these events will allow a better identification of the films, a re-creation of epoque screenings, a reflection on the ties between trades, traditions and images, and an anchoring of these in the collective memory.

Accueil
Accueil

Accueil

Fancybox

Notre projet

Le programme RhinFilm propose un regard croisé franco-allemand sur le cinéma de non-fiction produit, tourné ou projeté en Alsace ou au Bade-Wurtemberg au XXe siècle. Deux équipes d’historiens s’associent pour étudier aussi bien les films d’entreprise que les bandes publicitaires ou les films pédagogiques, les productions institutionnelles comme les bobines d’amateurs. Notre ambition consiste à révéler les enjeux économiques, sociaux, culturels et mémoriels de ces films dits « utilitaires », qui constituent une expérience cinématographique singulière. Restituer à la région du Rhin supérieur sa mémoire audiovisuelle impose deux approches novatrices quant à la méthode des chercheurs, et au rôle du public.

Notre approche

  • Comparer systématiquement tous les genres de films « utilitaires »
  • Étudier à la fois la production, les dispositifs de diffusion et la réception
  • Associer manifestations scientifiques et événements destinés au grand public

Le public, acteur du projet

Le public participe de la définition du projet. Il est composé de spectateurs, de cinéastes amateurs et d’acteurs du monde économique et culturel de nos régions. Nous le convions à trois cycles de projections et débats organisés des deux côtés du Rhin :

  • La vigne et le vin (mars-avril 2013)
  • La propagande (mai 2014)
  • Pratiques et produits de santé (printemps 2015)

Les échanges avec le public doivent permettre de mieux identifier les films, de recréer les conditions de projection d’époque, de repenser les liens noués entre métiers, traditions et images, les ancrant dans la mémoire collective.